Living Outside My Time

I honestly feel like I was born too late. I probably should have been an adult in the 50’s – 60’s. I still believe in America and what it stood for. I still believe in respect and discipline. I still believe in chivalry. I still believe in community.

This country has become so divided. We have celebrities and sports figures who want to kneel instead of stand for the National Anthem. We have people disrespecting authority. We have people who stand divided because of the color of their skin or their religious or political beliefs.

This is blatant district for our fellow humans. This is blatant disrespect for those people who served this country in order for you to have your freedom to kneel. You certainly didn’t earn it on your own. This is blatant disrespect for those who try to keep our communities safe so we can sleep soundly at night. It’s just disrespect and I’m so overwhelmed by all of it.

What this country stood for in the past is no longer. It breaks my heart to see what we, as a country and Americans, have become. It hurts me to see that we can’t even be decent human beings to one another. Most of all, it’s terrifying to have an inkling of what is about to happen. Think war, martial law, EMPs, and any other destructive force that will strip away our rights and our sanity.

Is this the kind of country we want our children and grandchildren to be in? Is this the type of world we are going to leave to future generations? I certainly hope not. I hope that what damage has been done can be reversed without any more added damage. I pray that you feel the same way.

Leave a comment